TTM Successes

-Scott Liddle, Minnesota Twins bench coach, signed 3/3 index cards c/o spring training address.

-Mike Venafro, MLB player fighting for a bullpen spot with the Twins signed 1/3 index cards sent c/o Twins spring training address.

Failures: Gary Wiggins, Monster Truck driver, returned my card unsigned

Update: I was putting that Gary Wiggins card back into one of my shoeboxes when I realized that Mr. Wiggins had signed the back of the card, right where there’s a little box that says “autograph.” A happy surprise, thanks Mr. Wiggins!


Twins Podcast

It was a fun Spring Training royal rumble with all the guys from Right Handed Heat (Scribe, Bill and Aaron) as well as the lone intellectual warrior, JT from Taylor’s Twins Talk. Click here to get the full show minus the five minutes of Jaw Harp music I accidentally played at the beginning. Topics included whether some pay too much attention to spring training, Twins pitching and pretty much everything else.

TTM

I was listening to the Art Bell show and I heard Art mention that he gets about 30 to 40 autograph requests a day at his house and that he thinks most of them are from “professional autograph” hunters. So, he doesn’t sign through the mail at all. He will sign readily in person and carries with him professional glossy photos which he will sign.

Plugs

The usual, I’m always on the look out for people interested in helping me create and edit my new wiki-project, the Minnesota Conservative Wikipedia. The goal is to create a website that records in depth the political workings of Minnesota from conservatives for conservatives. I also wanted to mention another great website, it’s run by a local who is skeptical of Global Warming.

CNBC Portfolio Challenge

Week 3

Trying to post up all the contest-eligible stocks with upcoming earnings reports is getting tiresome and it takes me way too long. So y’all are on your own. Go to this website and it provides a good overview of what is coming up but you have to do your own legwork to see if the stock is worthwhile or not. Any stocks with an upcoming earning report, and any tech stocks or biotech stocks under ten bucks are ideal choices for the challenge. Just get an email address and a seperate account for each. Buy low and sell high, simple.

I can’t give a rundown of all my accounts but my “flagship” account shows these numbers:

Rank: 16965 (Top 6%)
Total Return 3.61%

This reflects the 1%+ hit Charter took on Friday. At one point I was up over 5%

TTM Successes

-Johnny Lattner, 1953 Heisman Trophy winner signed 2/2 index cards sent to his home address.

-Kareem Abdul-Jabbar signed 1/1 cards c/o I think some team, not sure and I lost my notes. I thought for sure the Abdul Jabbar autos that TTM collectors have been getting would be from a ghost signer but the signature I got closely matched manufacturer authenticated signatures of Abdul-Jabbar.