• Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 32 other followers

  • October 2016
    S M T W T F S
    « Sep   Nov »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    3031  
  • Recent Bookmarks:

  • Archives

  • Categories

Cooper Book Update

I have been busy the last few weeks formatting and editing the print edition of Finding DB Cooper. It should be ready to go by early November. I have lowered the price of the Kindle version. Once the print book is published, the current Kindle version will be replaced with the second edition, which includes about 40% more material. According to the Kindle Publishing dashboard, it can take a day or two for the new price to publish.

4 Responses

  1. Marty,

    You indicated the second Kindle edition would have 40% more material. Is the print edition equivalent to the first or second Kindle edition? Thanks

    • The print edition will be the longer version. After I publish the print edition, it will take the second Kindle edition a week or so to publish, then the first Kindle edition will be retired.

  2. Marty,

    I thoroughly enjoyed the book, as well as your solution to solve the mystery. I like that it is a thesis (and an advanced) book, and doesn’t waste time going over the entire story – which us Cooper aficionados know by heart.

    One section dealt with whether Cooper was from Seattle or Portland. I don’t think Cooper wanted to jump near Seattle at all. I think Cooper wanted the stairs lowered before takeoff, so the crew would not know when he was preparing to jump or where.

    He told them to fly to Mexico (Reno was the agreed refueling city) and wanted the stairs down, so the crew could not report when he had lowered the stairs or the position when he lowered them. However, what he didn’t know was the pressure would change when he jumped. So, I don’t think the stairs down request, at takeoff, had anything to do with him wanting to jump near Seattle.

    Plus, remember that the flight time, between Seattle and Portland, is just approximately 30 minutes. So, this also explained why he immediately put the chute on, and began tying the money around him. He wanted everything in order, so he could closely monitor where the plane was and find a landmark (I think this was his intentions, but the clouds may have prevented it). He also didn’t want to have to fool with the stairs and wanted to focus on the jump point. This make sense to me.

    I also feel Cooper had an accomplice. The accomplice dropped him off at the airport and was probably supposed to meet Cooper and pick him up at a set time. I think it was Tosaw who allegedly found a witness that saw a fiery arc from the sky. Maybe Cooper was lighting the road flares (the alleged bomb) and dropping them to signal his ground extraction accomplice – again assuming Cooper knew where he was at when he jumped. He had to have known or had an idea. No way he planned everything out and then randomly jumped…or maybe he was that crazy and desperate that that is exactly what he did.

    Happy Turkey Day, tomorrow – which is the 45th anniversary!

    Brent

    • Thanks for the kind words. Happy Thanksgiving.

      Originally, I was writing fiction, and fiction requires a setting. The Portland vs Seattle chapter was basically about how I was unable to find a proper setting for the story. It’s clear to me, now, that Cooper was familiar with both areas, and that he probably lived in or near Portland at the time of the hijacking. You’re not the first person to voice an objection to that chapter, I may have to re-write it if I do another edition.

      I like your reasoning regarding why Cooper wanted the rear stairs down on takeoff. Personally, I think he wanted them down because he wanted to be 100% sure he could make his jump. I don’t think he was worried about telegraphing his LZ, this was a concern for the hijackers who followed. Anyway, Cooper waited somewhere between 5 and 10 minutes after he first got the stairs down to make his jump. That’s fifteen to thirty miles of terrain he let pass. So he wasn’t trying to land in Seattle.

      The fiery object is an interesting mystery itself. Galen Cook, as I understand it, promotes this. I could not find enough solid documentation to include it in my book. If Cooper did start dropping the road flares, he likely did it to help him with his landing.

      As for an accomplice, I strongly believe he didn’t have one. Cooper would have needed to be in constant contact with the cockpit to direct the plane to an LZ, or he would have needed communications equipment to vector an accomplice to his LZ. He did not do the former, and I don’t believe he did the latter.

      Thanks for reading and buying the book. If the spirit moves you, it would be great if you left an honest review on Amazon.com.

Comments are closed.

