• Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 35 other followers

  • January 2014
    S M T W T F S
    « Dec   Feb »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    262728293031  
  • Recent Bookmarks:

  • Archives

  • Categories

Trends Are Not Guaranteed

adrevenue

In 1999, I first applied for college with the intention of becoming a Journalism major. I entered college in 2000, and declared myself “pre-journalism” because the J-school has certain pre-reqs you have to meet before being admitted. I never got done with all the pre-reqs and ended up declaring a different major altogether. And yes, I feel lucky I did.

The lesson here is you can’t count on trends to continue. Had I made a “rational” choice to become a journalist, I would be in a dying industry filled with desperate people, all of whom are getting their pay cut and are working more and more hours trying to get ahead. One of my friends became a journalist after he graduated, and he had to leave the newspaper industry because they were making him work 70+ hours per week for a low salary that pro-rated to leass-than-minimum wages per hour worked.

