• Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 31 other followers

  • April 2013
    S M T W T F S
    « Mar   May »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    282930  
  • Recent Bookmarks:

  • Archives

  • Categories

From the Notebook

As everyone should have noticed by now, I have finished the novel and it is available on Amazon.com. I’m hoping to post some material about the book, why I wrote it and what I want people to take away from the book. Since publishing a book is rather stressful,  I took it easy on the blog this month.

– This blog officially turns ten years old in February of 2014. Which makes me feel very old. I am trying to keep this page alive, the best I can. Thus, I’m shooting for 5000 posts. It’s one of my last writing goals I really want to fulfill, as odd as that sounds. It looks like Random Links might be my preferred vessel. And I don’t care if they’re boring and no one cares or if Random Links shouldn’t even count as a blog post. I do care that some people have unsubscribed from the email list. But they were bound to quit on me anyway, right?

– Please, if you’ve read my book, review it!

Books Read:

William F. Buckley (Christian Encounters Series) by Jeremy Lott. This was a brief biography from a Christian perspective. Since Buckley played such a big role in my political development, I felt compelled to read this book, but I wouldn’t recommend it. It wasn’t bad, in fact, it was rather interesting. Well written. But sometimes the life of a writer is not as interesting as his writtens.

The Wikipedia Grand Tour from Dailylit. This exhaustive, almost three-year long email series sends you the intros to nearly 1000 of the most important Wikipedia articles. And there’s a lot of variation in interest depending on the topic. I felt like it was worth it.

Why Can’t I Use A Smiley Face?: Stories From One Month In America by Roosh V. Interesting book. I would recommend it.

Jim Cramer’s Getting Back to Even. This book outlines a few new tools and new rules to investing in the post-Great Recession world. Personally, I wouldn’t recommend a few of Cramer’s ideas. They just take too much work. But, the new focus on dividends and gold hedging is a step in the right direction and people should be well acquainted with them. Still, people will probably be better off just getting an index fund (like VOO from Vanguard).

Enjoy the Decline by Aaron Clarey. Get it. Read it. Make someone else read it.

The Game: Penetrating the Secret Society of Pickup Artists by Neil Strauss. The first books in the “PUA” genre I’ve read, but this is actually not a PUA guide. It’s a fascinating memoir, as Strauss goes from AFC to mPUA to burnout. Highly recommend.

– A Writers Bucket List by Dana Sitar. As I tell younger writers, you should probably read one or two books dealing with the craft of writing every year. This is a quick read with 99 solid goals writers should have going forward in their “careers”. Worth an afternoon.

Before There Was Bubble Gum: Our Favorite Pre-World War I Baseball Cards by Dean Hanley. I liked the first book of Hanley’s I read (The Bubble Gum Card War) that I immediately purchased his first book. Big mistake. This short book provides the sort of information you can find in any baseball card catalogue.

