• Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 33 other followers

  • October 2011
    S M T W T F S
    « Sep   Nov »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    3031  
  • Recent Bookmarks:

  • Archives

  • Categories

From the Notebook

Cover of "Moneyball: The Art of Winning a...

Cover via Amazon

-Went to see “Moneyball” this weekend. I loved it. It wasn’t what I expected at all. It was a rather intense character study of Oakland A’s GM Billy Beane, not a baseball movie, not a business movie. The two complaints I heard going into the film were its length and the way former A’s Manager Art Howe is portrayed as a dumb and stubborn ignoramus. Whatever. I thought they could have created more conflict there, that’s what I got from the book. And the baseball traditionalists really were as obdurate and arrogant as portrayed. I would say even more so, just from my perspective on the outside looking in. The length was fine, as good movies don’t need to end soon. I highly recommend seeing it sometime.

-Another movie I recently saw and really enjoyed was “Get Low” starring Robert Duvall. The movie is about an old hermit preparing to die, and wishing to do it in a way that engages the local community he has separated himself from for so long. He doesn’t know it, but this process leads to him giving a confession that had been weighing so heavily on his soul. Really a wonderful movie. Bill Murray plays the part of a desperate undertaker in need of money. Another high recommendation. The movie was released in 2009 and should be available on demand somewhere.

-Read  “The Practice of the Presence of God” by Brother Lawrence, a book about the ideal interior spiritual life of those on their Christian Walk. Brother Lawrence was a humble cook who was well-known for his intense spirituality, and after his death his sayings, some letters and a short biography were compiled into this short book. It’s a great text for the protestant or Catholic alike.

-Over the coming months a short-story of mine is going to be published in serial by my friends at MassProLife. Parts I&II are up on their website now. The story is a dystopian vision of the near future where good intentions have led to bad policies regarding healthcare in America. As always, I love feedback on my writing whenever I can get it.

-There is one thing the recession has helped, a lot, and that is financial shows on the radio. What were once dull and dry pedantic lectures on saving money and paying off credit cards has turned into wonderful commentary on econometrics, market forecasting and public policy. I can’t remember the last time I heard a money show on the radio scorn a man for investing in penny stocks or not fully contributing to his 401k. I suppose, once these shows are boring again, the recession will finally be over.

