• Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 35 other followers

  • April 2011
    S M T W T F S
    « Mar   May »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
  • Recent Bookmarks:

  • Archives

  • Categories

Decennial Anniversary

Ten years ago today my writing “career” started with a short column on the Quebec Summit of the Americas published in a soon-to-be-dead online magazine. A hundred and fifty columns, 4,500 blog posts, and fifteen hundred dollars in earnings later, here I am. This summer the novel will be out in print, and I’m hoping another major project will be nearing completion (It’s not much, but it’s something solid). I can’t complain about how things have gone, I’ve had every opportunity a writer can ask for. Some of my articles have been read by thousands of people. That’s not impressive in today’s media world, but it would have been impressive to that college freshman back in 2001. Every once in a while I consider calling it quits altogether. Those moments don’t last long. To everyone I owe thanks, thanks. To everyone else, thanks too.

