• Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 31 other followers

  • February 2011
    S M T W T F S
    « Jan   Mar »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    2728  
  • Recent Bookmarks:

  • Archives

  • Categories

From the Notebook

Minneapolis, Minn. (July 17, 2006) - Minnesota...

Image via Wikipedia

-I’ve been in a funk for the past month or so. I finished the novel, which had taken up a lot of my time over the last year or so. You’d think I’d find some time to blog, but the truth is, I’m having a hard time writing about anything. So I’m not really writing anything at all. I’m burned out. But ignoring that…

-At Twins Fest, I made the major faux pau of asking a player about an injury he didn’t have. I asked Chris Parmelee (Twins Prospect) about his shoulder. It was actually Rene Tosoni* who had suffered an injury last year. Oops. Parmelee was obviously distressed. Athletes generally being superstitious. So: Dear Chris Parmelee, if you do hurt your shoulder this coming season, you can punch me in the face, sincerely, Marty Andrade. // *I did not get to ask Rene Tosoni about his injury, as he decided to interrogate me about how I got one of his game used bats (which was not cracked and in pretty good condition). It was an awkward Twins Fest.

-But I’d rather have awkward than ever go through Ron Gardenhire‘s line again. This year, he ruined a very nice Gardenhire-model fungo (not only was it a model, it used to be one of the fungos he actually used). Instead of signing by his name, he signed on the blank side of the bat. Tom Kelly, who signs with Gardy every year at Twins Fest, ruined a Dome ball by signing on the wrong panel. Last year, Kelly ruined another Dome ball. They are the worst, least considerate signers at Twins Fest (worse than Kent Hrbek). Never again. (My apologies to everyone who has no clue what I’m complaining about, i.e. everyone.)

-Seth Stohs latest Twins Prospect Handbook is now available. I recommend it to all Twins fans as a ready reference to the entire farm system of the Twins. You must buy a copy. I demand it.

Barack Obama will win re-election. That’s my call right now.

-Anybody else not watch the Super Bowl?

-If I were to write a book about how to be a successful dictator, chapter one would be titled “Avoiding Youthful Unemployment”

