• Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 35 other followers

  • Recent Bookmarks:

  • Archives

  • Categories

links for 2010-07-07

Tipped Employees

Driving around town last evening, I found a lone Emmer protester. His signed said “Emmer wants waitresses to earn $2.00 an hour”

I wish I had a camera with me, the scene and the sign were equally pathetic.

Once, a long time ago, I remember going to an awesome steakhouse in Denver, CO. If you wore a tie, they cut it off and pinned it to the wall. There was a giant slide. And they had live music every night we went.

It was a lot of fun, and I never remember a bad night (and we went many times).

The wait staff were especially memorable. Always friendly. Always fun.

And they earned $0.00 an hour.  It was tips-only. And it worked just fine.

I do not understand the liberal dismay with tips. Somewhere in the Marxist collective consciousness, tips must represent the seed of capitalism (a guess).

To me, tips represent the social nature of economics. “We had fun, great service, here’s five bucks, thanks a lot.”  People working for tips get along with other people. And how often do you find someone who is anti-social and leaves good tips? I rarely have, but I don’t have any studies to cite to prove it.

Tips make friends.

But maybe I’m wrong.

Of course, the guy holding the anti-Emmer sign? He was standing alone.