• Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 35 other followers

  • April 2009
    S M T W T F S
    « Mar   May »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    2627282930  
  • Recent Bookmarks:

  • Archives

  • Categories

From the Notebook; Happy Taxation Day

If it moves, tax it. If it keeps moving, regulate it. And if it stops moving, subsidize it –Ronald Reagan

-Read through Prometheus Bound “by” Aeschylus. It’s a greek tragedy about a Titan who takes on Zeus, gives man fire and the ability to write and is punished for his insolence. I was disappointed when I couldn’t find any remotely watchable videos of the play online. This play was part of the Great Books of the Western World ten-year reading program. Now whenever I have a bad day, I can just remind myself that at least I’m not chained to a rock having my intestines consumed by a giant eagle for all eternity.

-On a personal note, this Business Law/Ethics class is a real test, so expect light posting. Lighter posting? No posting? I haven’t been posting up any Wednesday Heroes for a while, so I think I’ll just throw the ones I haven’t posted yet into my blog’s scheduling system just to have some content (Along with the final chapters of “Terror Rats”). Just think, someday I might be able to call myself a blogger again.

-Kenny Perry came close to history in his Masters bid and ended up a little short. It was a great battle, the outcome of which actually kept me up for a few nights. I hope Kenny Perry is sleeping easier than I am. This isn’t to say Angel Cabrera is a bad guy or didn’t deserve to win. But writers love a great story, and lament its death and replacement with good story.

-El Dos de Mayo is coming up. If you didn’t know, it’s the official national collegiate conservative activist holiday. It’s celebrated on the 2nd of May and it is a celebration of the previous year’s efforts towards annoying liberals and spreading conservatism on college campuses. Like usual, the party starts 4pm at Sally’s near the U of M campus in Minneapolis, it moves over to Stub and Herb’s at 8pm and the survivors end up at Dulono’s on Lake Street around 1am. All readers of this blog are invited.

-I’m adding Flash of “Centrisity” to blogroll (despite the fact I have long standing objections to the name of his blog since it’s not the blog of a centrist but a very reliable liberal). I’ll get the link up eventually.

