Colbertness

Most of the time I don’t like Colbert, but I still watch his program regularly as it’s one of the few good programs playing when I’m at the gym. Occasionally I’m rewarded; This interview with Juan Cole was hilarious:

The Colbert Report Mon – Thurs 11:30pm / 10:30c
Juan Cole
comedycentral.com
Colbert Report Full Episodes Political Humor Mark Sanford

(Looks like the embed code doesn’t work with wordpress but I’m not going to delete the whatever it is)

You know someone is full of crap when a should-be-friendly-conservative-parody-with-supportive-audience makes them look stupid. In the interview it looked like Colbert was hammering the guy so much that Colbert backed off a bit to try to help him.

2 Responses

  1. Cole came off pretty well. The key to doing well on Colbert is play the straight man and let him make the jokes (Unless you’re George WIll). B.

    • I’m not so sure about Cole. He didn’t look bad, but he didn’t have a real answer to “the surge worked” and there was an exchange in the middle where Colbert asked “so we are being hasty in our judgment of them” and Cole agreed and Colbert said “so it’s our fault” and once again Cole agreed. Maybe those were good answers in front of that particular audience, but to me Cole came off as “knee jerk lefty America hater” and Colbert was the guy who led me to that conclusion.

Comments are closed.