• Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 35 other followers

  • August 2005
    S M T W T F S
    « Jul   Sep »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28293031  
  • Recent Bookmarks:

  • Archives

  • Categories

Collection Madness:

Captain Bogs has recently started going through his extensive coin collection looking for gems to be sent in to get graded. His activity prompted me to peak into my dark closet of treasures in search of coins (I have few) that could also be sent in to get graded. We did find one gem (one more than I thought), and he quickly went back to something else. I lingered a bit. My collection is mostly baseball cards.

In fact, one of my goals was to be “The Million Card Man” after acquiring a million cards. I think I’m close, but I don’t have an official count. My guess is I’m about 60-70% along the way. I’ve pretty much stopped collecting cards though. Sometimes I buy something that catches my eye or interest, and I normally look for quality instead of quantity when it comes to my collection.

In fact, I have expanded my interests beyond baseball cards to what I call “conversation pieces.” Items that may or may not be valuable, but are interesting and have a story behind them. Eventually, I hope to post up some of the more fascinating pieces of my collection, maybe not here but on the disenfranchised MartyEmail blog.

However, I was perusing of the Library of Congress website, and found the story of the first baseball cards, which I thought interesting:

Baseball cards as we know them did not become commonplace until the 1880s. This early prototype is actually an original photograph mounted on a card. At the start of the 1865 season, the Atlantics presented opposing teams with framed photographs of the “Champion Nine.” The Scottish-born photographer Charles H. Williamson opened a daguerreotype studio in Brooklyn in 1851, continuing to work as a photographer until his death in 1874.

The Card:

Random Link o’ the Day:

http://www.behindthename.com/