• Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 10 other followers

  • December 2009
    S M T W T F S
    « Nov   Jan »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    2728293031  
  • Recent Bookmarks:

  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Pages

From the Notebook

The business of Progressives is to go on making mistakes. The business of Conservatives is to prevent mistakes from being corrected.
–GK Chesterton

Though the debate is over, in the Healthcare debate, liberals used the flaws in the current system to promote a system empirically shown in other nations to promote even more flaws (mainly overconsumption, leading to government rationing).

Conservatives get stuck defending the flawed system and blamed for not having any solutions. The democratic farce continues. Needless to say, I am a skeptic of Obamacare to do anything more than cost a lot.

-I am still in search of some liberal blogs to read. Requirements: intellectual honesty, love of ideas, search for truth, aversion to fallacy, limited snark (and well-timed when present), honest sense of humor. Can anyone find me a few that match? just give me three.

language is such a pain. Recently I got caught using Gregorian instead of gregarious and photogenic instead of picturesque. Annoying. All that schooling wasted on business statistics instead of important things like how not to look like a fool in front of erudite friends. Overly erudite friends.

-I can’t wait to see if Mitch Berg declares this blog dead or undead.

Finished up a bunch of books this month:

-Reading through a “One Year” Bible the long way, by taking more than a year. It’s the New Living Translation (NLT), popular with some Evangelical friends. Books read so far are: Genesis, Exodus, Leviticus, Numbers, Deuteronomy, Joshua, Judges, Ruth, First and Second Samuel, First and Second Kings, Psalms, Tobit, Sirach, Mathew, Mark, Luke, John and Acts. If nothing else, I’ve read enough to have an opinion on the translation. For the dense histories in the Old Testament, the translation is fine. However, the work in any of the literary areas of the Bible take away any literary quality. And the parts where literal is really important, the NLT is not literal. The work isn’t quite a summary, but I would only use the NLT to get familiar with a text, not for any serious study.

-Read Aeschylus’ “Agamemnon” using a 19th century translation that was basically unreadable. This was part of the Great Books of the Western World 10 year reading program. The wikipedia article on the topic filled in the gaps. At least I now know the penalties for sinful pride.

-Also read “Wittgenstein; Lectures and Conversations on Aesthetics, Psychology and Religious Belief” edited by C. Barrett. These are basically just notes taken by a few students of Wittgenstein in the 30′s and 40′s. In a way, little books like this provide insight into the man of Wittgenstein better than plunging through his actual writings. Wittgenstein had interesting views on subjects I care about. He attempted to separate Aesthetics from psychology by asking if a pill could reproduce the effects of a beautiful thing, does that mean there isn’t really a beautiful thing there? Of course not was his answer. He tries to create a way to declare something objectively good looking, I’m not sure he came close. On Psychology, he pokes fun at the post hoc analyses of Freud. On Religious Belief, it’s clear he’s a skeptic. But he says “I’m not so sure” and doesn’t outright say “there is no diety” because he can’t be sure. (He was buried as a Roman Catholic). I don’t see any real value in this book for any but a small group of people, but I like anyway.

-Got Levitt and Dubner’s “SuperFreakonomics” for Christmas. Finished it the next day. It’s a remarkable book, better than the first for sure. The political leanings are a little worse though than in the first book. overall, I would recommend picking this up and giving it a read. For one thing, it solves the whole Global Warming problem for about 100 million bucks a year.

-Picked up in “A” in “Strategic Management’, the last real class in the MBA program. Now I have to do the Thesis thing. If all things go right, I’ll be done sometime mid-summer.

-Any opinions on those links being posted up everyday? They are downloaded from My Delicious page automatically. It’s easy content but not aesthetically pleasing. It also feels like cheating. Then again, it’s just a blog.

-Sony Reader: Good so far.

-I’m never updating IE again. I went several years without updating, and now that I did I regret it. And no, no Mozilla Firefox for me, thanks.

4 Responses

  1. I take it that you are reading the NLT Catholic Edition which uses the NLT 1996. The 2007 is a bit more literal.

  2. It is the 1996. I doubt I’ll be updating though. The Amplified Bible is my preference.

  3. tisk, tisk, tisk, The Amplified? Marty… :)

    Have you heard of the Expanded Bible? It’s Thomas Nelson’s answer to the Amp.

    Have a great and wonderful day.

    • I accept the fact I’ll never have a complete understanding of Biblical texts until I learn and master Ancient Greek and Hebrew and translate the Bible myself. Not going to happen anytime soon. So, I’ll trust in orthodoxy on controversial matters.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

