• Book Recommendations:

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 10 other followers

  • May 2009
    S M T W T F S
    « Apr   Jun »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
    31  
  • Recent Bookmarks:

  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Pages

From the Notebook

-Read “The Chase” by Clive Cussler. These are the sorts of books I read when decompressing from a class. I try to limit my intake of books like this, but they’re fun anyway. The Chase is an historical fiction novel taking place around the time of the great San Francisco earthquake. A private detective chases a really bad guy. Cussler always includes the coolest machines in his novels.

-Read “A Feel for the Game” by two-time Masters winner Ben Crenshaw. Most of the book is centered around Crenshaw’s Ryder Cup captaincy. It’s a great book for golfing enthusiasts, Crenshaw is very approachable. Real. Down to earth. Or whatever his ghost writer wanted him to look like. I’d read this book in conjunction with Harvey Penick’s “Little Red Book.”

-I don’t like Twitter. Won’t be joining Twitter anytime soon. But I do see some positives for writers on Twitter: it does help break the tyranny of the blank page.

-Was 2 months behind in “Wednesday Heroes” posts so that’s why so may of them have been cropping up this week.

-My latest MBA class is work-heavy. And buzzword heavy. Expect surly disgruntledness from me for quite some time.

5 Responses

  1. I have the Chase. If you like Cussler’s The Chase you should really check out a few of his other books. My favorite so far is Dragon. Additionally i think you should check out a book called The Raw Shark Texts by Steven Hall. Really creepy and enveloping stuff.

    wellplayedwill.com

  2. Little Red Book is a fun read and actually helped me with my golf game, back when I golfed on a semi-regular basis (cured my horrible fade).
    Haven’t read the Crenshaw autobiography, but from what I know about him his story seems to be the quintessential pro golfers story. I won’t be surprised when I finally see a movie based on his 1995 Master’s win.

    • Crenshaw is a little different the standard golfer to me, only because the “quintessential” golfer is someone like Woods or Palmer, Jack or Trevino. Of course, those guys are regular pro golfers either. What I like about Crenshaw’s book is his close relationship to the Bush family and his close relationship to Penick (and Tom Kite, another Harvey Penick pupil)

  3. I’m not saying he isn’t a one-of-a-kind personality in the professional golf world. What I am saying is that the arc of his playing career ypifies that of many golfers’ careers on the PGA circuit. Plenty of talent, many ups and downs, just waiting for that right moment or two to put it all together. I think we all love rooting for those types of players, who we saw come into their own, fade a bit with age, and then pull it together on occasion for a remarkable performance on the big stage of a major. That for me is the quintessential pro golfer’s story.
    Now Tiger Woods, he’s other worldly in every facet of his golf existence. No one has done what he is doing, except for maybe Jack Nicklaus.

    Could you lend me the book when you’re done?

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

