• Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 10 other followers

  • January 2009
    S M T W T F S
    « Dec   Feb »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728293031
  • Recent Bookmarks:

  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Pages

From the Notebook

-Gran Turino is a great movie. To complete review add your own superlatives.

-Writer’s Market is having a contest for self published authors. I’m debating whether to enter my Burger Tour into the contest. Here’s the main info. The contest has a $3000 grand prize and a few other prizes. Cost of entry is $100. What say you?

-I wrote up a quick column on the Bleacher Report just to make sure they don’t delete my account. Basically it’s a whimsical piece making fun of the proliferation of teenage writers in the sports world.

-Recently there’s been a rush of people wishing to add me as a friend on Facebook (I know, I’m as shocked as the rest of you). Since I’m the curious type, I’d like to know if anyone added me as a friend on facebook as a result of reading this blog. And if you intend to add me as a friend and are a reader of this blog and not just some pathetic friend collector with low self concept, let me know that too.

-Just a note, finished the DailyLit wikipedia tour on U.S. Presidents. Which means I get to start another book through the email. Dailylit is awesome.

-Snark isn’t an argument

-I watched “The Star Wars Holiday Special” along with the RiffTrax audio (The RiffTrax guys are the ones from MST3K). Hilarious. Mike Nelson et al. have truly mastered the art of the riff. If you have no idea what I’m talking about, visit the RiffTrax homepage and treat yourself to some of their free samples.

2 Responses

  1. Marty,

    I have a rule about things… if someone wants money from me BEFORE I get a job, contest entry, fund raising, etc – I’m most likely being ripped off. Examples include as little as $1 for a lottery ticket and as much as $10k for some smarmy guy who claimed he could get us in front of big donors. Also $5k for a guy who said he could get us government funds…

    All in all – you either really need to like these people as a charity, or don’t give them your money.

  2. Basically, I agree with you Bill. But, it should be noted that the people who produce Writer’s Digest are the same people who publish “Writers Market” which is the most highly regarded reference writers use to market themselves.

    Almost all writing contests cost some money up front.

    However, I’ve pretty much already decided against entering the contest.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

