• Book Recommendations:

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 10 other followers

  • January 2009
    S M T W T F S
    « Dec   Feb »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728293031
  • Recent Bookmarks:

  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Pages

From the Notebook

-Finished up the el-cheapo Dover Thrift edition of Marcus Aurelius’ Meditations. I started the book without even realizing it was in year 2 of the 10-year Great Books reading program. Aurelius was a Roman Caeser and stoic philosopher from the second century. His Meditations are little tidbits on life, mostly focused on death. Yes, that sentence is accurate.

-After my own extended meditations on the subject, I have decided I will never “do Twitter.” It just seems really stupid to me. If you want to hear about my boring life, you can call or email me. I’ll be sure to give you too much information.

-I’m not in the habit of censoring comments, but this one was left in an inappropriate place:

US SUPREME COURT DOCKETS 08A505 08A524 08-570 08A391 08A407 Constitution”Natural Born Citizen” qualification for Pres-VP, born on US soil to US CITIZENS. Qualification for US Senators-Reps “CITIZEN” only. US Senate Resolution 511 30Apr2008. Obama is not a “natural born citizen”, his father was a Kenyan British Subject when Obama was born. Obama’s website FIGHT THE SMEARS admits it -factcheck.org

So I’m publishing it here. The comment was left by “Old Glory.” Well, whatever. If anyone wants to embarrass themselves pursuing this dead end, you can do so in this thread.

-On a completely different note, I’m never watching Chris Matthews again.

-Nor “Vantage Point,” which makes the Kris Kristofferson classic “Millenium” look, well, watchable. Hitchcockian? Whatever, Vantage Point sucked.

-I appear somewhere in Seth Stoh’s January 13th podcast talking about the new Burger Tour and some Twins stuff. It’s about a six minute interview. If and when I get permission to edit out just my interview, I’ll post it. Or maybe not, there’s a wicked echo at points in the interview and I did the interview from a rather loud restaurant to boot. Seth and I step over each other a few times, which was probably my fault (as I could barely hear anything). Big thanks to Seth for having me on. My interview starts around 38 minutes.

-Finished “Stand-Up Comedy: The Book” by Judy Carter. Working comics and wannabes could probably find a lot of value from the workshops contained therein, but there’s a greater lesson available to all of us from Judy Carter’s experiences as a working comic: Cut down on the setup and get to the punchline.

-Special thanks to the guys from the BigTenRoundtable for helping acquire a ridiculous number of autographs at TwinsFest this year.

3 Responses

  1. Why is daring to question something that is not clear, embarrassing? Did your parents tell you never to question anything, and that asking questions was just embarrassing? My parents told me that no question was too silly and not to ever be embarrassed to question anything that I disagreed with or had questions about. Odd, how different styles of parenting can present different and unique individuals – another concept that this great Nation was founded on. Imagine that! Perhaps it’s called ‘tolerance’ for those that hold different truths than you?

    Old Glory is not asking that he be shot or hanged – only stating that he believes that Mr. Obama is not constitutionally eligible to be POTUS. I’m not sure I see where that is particularly embarrassing. But we are all entitled to our own opinions (that’s what’s so great about living in the USA!). So, I guess Old Glory could feel you are embarrassing yourself by your gullibility to be deceived as evidenced by your not questioning Mr. Obama’s sealed creditials. However, I think he has the tolerance to say that you hold a different view on the matter.

    It’s a two way street. Most are only asking for some clarification / definitive ruling on the matter – nothing more. You know like when 2 parties go to court because one side believes one thing and the other side believes the opposite? In that situation, which side do you think is embarrassing themselves? The side you disagree with?

    If exercising my right as a US Natural Born Citizen is embarrassing – then I’m very proud to be embarrassed – right along with Old Glory.

  2. http://www.southparkstudios.com/clips/154917/

    I thought this was America!

  3. The BigTenRoundTable was happy to be of service to you.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

