• Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 11 other followers

  • November 2008
    S M T W T F S
    « Oct   Dec »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    30  
  • Recent Bookmarks:

  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Pages

From the Notebook

-I’ll be interviewing Steve Mayfield, Update: I’ll be talking to Steve next Tuesday. author of the inspirational novel “Afterlife Crisis“, tonight at 10pm CT. We’ll be discussing layoffs, the economy and handling your tenuous grip on employment in difficult times. Click hereto listen to the live podcast or in the same spot to listen to the interview later.

-Finished the first 9 chapters of Adam Smith’s Wealth of Nations as part of the 10 year Great Books of the Western World reading program. I found it to be great reading, if a little dull at times. Smith’s book is still a great defense of classical liberalism and I think conservatives should attempt reading the raw text, if only in manageable chunks.

-Also finished reading “Great Conversations” which is the introductory essay to the Great Books series(it was volume 1 of the first edition of the books from 1952). Two of the chapters dealing with nuclear annihilation and “East meets West” were very dated material. Otherwise, it was a good defense of liberal education and of reading the great books. I haven’t seen what the introductory volume is like in the 2nd edition of the GBWW but I am curious.

-I have a few more weeks left in my first quarter for the MBA program. A more manageable 6 page paper is due at the end of the term. I start my second quarter in January. I’ll update everyone as I progress.

One Response

  1. Good to hear you sticking with the MBA program. .Keep on truckin’, home boy.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

