• Book Recommendations:

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 10 other followers

  • February 2008
    S M T W T F S
    « Jan   Mar »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    242526272829  
  • Recent Bookmarks:

  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Pages

Bill Buckley

Just hearing news that the great one, Bill Buckley, has passed on. He was my greatest influence when it came to writing and politics.

Update

Considering I never met Bill Buckley, it surprises me how saddened I am now that he’s gone. My first introduction to Buckley was a television program, it was on C-Span (I never did seen an episode of Firing Line). Buckley and the C-Span host were going through all the books Buckley had written. Trying to date the program, there were 44 books discussed. It was long too, over an hour. I was awestruck anyone could write so many books. At the end of the interview, the host asked him if there was anything else he wanted to do, and the wit turned on and Buckley said “go to the bathroom.”

The columnists I read are all under “Da Roll.” I try to read every column of all those people but I often fail. But, I do read every column of Thomas Sowell and every column of WFB. Sowell now for about four years, WFB for 9 years. In fact, I’ve been doing a lot of research for the Conservative Canon and that has involved reading scores of Buckley’s old columns. He’s such a huge part of modern conservatism it’s difficult to put into words.

Take the time to read The Corner today and hear what others are saying about the man.

NYT Obituary
NR Obituary

One Response

  1. George Will said it best: Before there was Reagan there was Goldwater, before Goldwater there was National Review, and before National Review there was William F. Buckley.

    WFB was a mountain of a man. We (conservatives) owe everything to him. There will never be another WFB.

    -Aaron.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

