• Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 11 other followers

  • February 2007
    S M T W T F S
    « Jan   Mar »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728  
  • Recent Bookmarks:

  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Pages

John McCain

I am an early supporter of John McCain’s in the 2008 GOP presidential nomination. There are no other serious candidates in the race other than Giuliani and I think Giuliani’s stances on abortion and gun control are unacceptable to me. McCain is not perfect but he has a solid voting record on gun rights, abortion, judges and pork spending. Let’s not forget his unfailing support for the war on terror and his support on our actions in Iraq. John McCain is an ideal candidate in a political climate not friendly to Republicans without sacrificing huge portions of our platform and possibly losing the support of Evangelicals. What I don’t get is why some local conservatives who have radio shows on The Patriot on Saturdays and certain MOB mayors absolutely cannot imagine supporting John McCain unless he reverses himself on…of all things…Campaign Finance Reform.

I know Campaign Finance Limits are limits on free speech. I don’t support CFR but they aren’t high up on my list. The right to life and the right to bear arms are much more important to me. Free Speech is important, and despite CFR I still believe I have a free speech. I think those who complain about CFR exaggerate about the dangers in the same way the left has exaggerated some of the elements of The Patriot Act. Please, tell me where I’ve gone wrong…

9 Responses

  1. Why settle for such a mediocre moderate?

    Why not support someone running from your state of birth?

    Mike Huckabee was only the third GOPer elected governor in Arkansas since reconstruction. He succeeded Clinton, elected three times, father was a preacher, named by Time magazine in 2005 as one of the best governors in the country.

    As far as tax cuts go, here’s what his web site states:

    “Huckabee, a fiscal conservative, pushed through the Arkansas Legislature the first major, broad-based tax cuts in state history — a $90 million tax relief package for Arkansas families. He led efforts to establish a PropertyTaxpayers’ Bill of Rights and created a welfare reform program that reduced the welfare rolls in the state by almost 50 percent. He also doubled the standard deduction to $2,000 for single taxpayers and $4,000 for those who are arried. He proposed The Property Taxpayers’ Bill of Rights which established a uniform notice and due process procedure to guarantee that all Arkansans will be treated fairly in property tax assessment. In total, Huckabee cut taxes and fees over 90 times during his ten and a half years as governor, saving the people of Arkansas almost $380 million. When he left office, Arkansas had over $800 million in state surplus, which he believes should go back to the people in the form of either a tax rebate or tax cut.”

    Some say he raised taxes. I have no clue; but the guy did promise to sign the no-new tax pledge if given the GOP nomination. He seems like the type of dude who could get people excited. And, yes, as everyone knows, he lost 100 pounds a few years back and then ran (and finished) the NYC Marathon.

    So why are you supporting McModerate again?

    - JH

  2. Why are you guys being picky. That isn’t the part of the Bill of Rights that I care about.

    I only care about, 1, 2, and 4. So my politician wants to remove 5, 7, and 10.. big deal. We didn’t need all those rights anyhow. Right?

    My politicaian will protect free speech, but he wants to search your house without any reason, and house troops on your property without reimbursing you.. really, who cares. Big deal.

    I think the Libertarian leaning Republicans are the problem. Who knew there were so many who thought that the Constitution, being the Law of the Land and all, should actually trump a Senators Political whim…

    And it seems odd that a Blog writer doesn’t care about muzzling free speech. You seem to be focusing on Politics here, I hope you’re ready to switch topics or shut down when within an appropriate timeframe of an election.

    Would hate to see you run afoul of a law that doesn’t concern you, and isn’t really your problem or a major issue for you.

    Of coruse that is just because Irony hurts my fillings…

  3. McCain? Of McCain-Feingold and Gang of 14 fame? No Thanks.

    Go Mitt Romney!

    http://www.mittromney.com/

    Hugh Hewitt and my best friend in Houston, Texas tell me he’s really swell! (but SD63 is pretty much behind Rudy Guliani. . .)

  4. Hank -

    Huckabee? Huckabee? What about the 377 million sales tax hike in 2004? What about the fact that sales taxes were nearly 40% higher by the end of his 2nd term? Or the outrageous growth of cigarette and gas taxes during his time in office? Huckabee also exaggerates his own record – his standard for a tax cut is basically every reduction, exemption, or tax break of any kind – which inflates his aggregate number of tax cuts to 90.

  5. Here’s how I see it:

    -It’s a two man race, only McCain and Giuliani have a shot a the nomination. If Giuliani is the nominee then I won’t be voting for him in the general election. Gingrich might have a shot at the nomination if he hops into the race right away. If he does I’ll be shifting my support but right now it’s just a two man race.

    -McCain did pass BCRA (McCain Feingold) but Bush signed the thing and SCOTUS called it Constitutional. I disagree with it but it is only one issue. BCRA was merely an extension of campaign finance laws currently in use. As such I still don’t see why so many bloggers who are single issue voters for something as trivial as campaign finance.

    -I know some people see BCRA as speech rationing. But I see speech rationing as having existed for a very long time. Elections, campaign finance, 501c3 non-profits have all been regulated by when and how they can use the money they raise for my entire life. I would like to undo those regulations but I have to be realistic, it’s not possible yet. And I’m not going to base my vote on that one issue. I try to base my vote on an aggregate of conservative issues.

    I know he’s not the best but I see reasons to vote for him, more reasons to vote for him than to vote for Giuliani.

  6. Aaaron,
    I havent lived in Arkansas any time lately, but I do know that I’d rather have a dude hike sales tax than income or property tax. You may be right, but the dude has agreed to sign a no-new taxes pledge.

    And jsut so Marty gets this straight, historically theres has always been someone you dont know much about early in the cycle who becomes a front runner. I can promise niether Mccain or rudy will get the nomination.

  7. Hank,

    While I agree that it isn’t uncommon for unknowns to rise to prominence and win nominations, by no means does it “always” happen. Dubya was being mentioned as the presumptive nominee by early 1998 if not before, and McCain’s challenge came up short. Gore also was the establishment candidate. In 2004, Kerry looked dead by October of 2003, but he was the establishment guy as well (no one in the establishment supported Dean, and Dick Gephardt and Joe Lieberman weren’t serious challengers either). Kerry may have fallen behind, but he re-emerged in time to take the nomination.

    I strongly suspect that in the modern era where the primary campaign starts well over a year before the first primaries, the well-known, well-funded candidates are overwhelmingly likely to win (just ask Tom Vilsack). I’ll counter your “promise” that it won’t be McCain or Giuliani with an educated guess that it will be (Romney is DOA, and Huckabee won’t raise any appreciable money). Furthermore, while Bill Richardson is the strongest Dem in the field, it will be Hilary or Obama crossing the finish line.

    As much as I would love to see dark horses win both races, I just don’t see it happening.

  8. I guess I’m hoping it won’t be either, as I’m not very confident in Giuliani as a true GOPer, and McCain is a senator. Senators dont win the presidency. (JFK the exception).

  9. JH-

    You mean Senators running with a current Senate seat don’t win the presidency – with the exception of JFK. But plenty of former Presidents from the modern era (1900-present) have served in the Senate at some point in their career. I believe that Harding, Truman, Nixon, and Johnson all served in the Senate at some point. Now I’m sure if you go back even further you can find more examples, but they probably wouldn’t be very culturally relevant.

    Oh, and No Tax Pledges are about as good as the paper they are printed on.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

