• Book Recommendations:

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 10 other followers

  • May 2006
    S M T W T F S
    « Apr   Jun »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28293031  
  • Recent Bookmarks:

  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Pages


Twins Podcast

I admit, this week’s Twins Podcast is from the “I wasn’t really trying” department. Listen at your risk. I talk about my Twins all-time lineup.

this is an audio post - click to play

Here’s my Twins All-Time Lineup for flamewar goodness:

1)Rod Carew (2B)
2)Tony Oliva (LF)
3)Harmon Killebrew (DH)
4)Dave Winfield (RF)
5)Kent Hrbek (1B)
6)Kirby Puckett (CF)
7)Earl Battey (C)
8)Roy Smalley (SS)
9)Gary Gaetti (3B)

Back up catcher Brian Harper, Pinch Hitter Chip Hale on the bench

8 Responses

  1. the only thing I completely disagree with is Dave Winfield. hall of fame player, no doubt, but what did he do in a twins uni? picked up his 3,000 hit and tipped his cap to his hometown of St. Paul. By that token, Molitor should be on the list.

  2. Good point…

    What about Brunansky then? Put Hrbek 4th and Bruno 5th.

  3. bruno seems like a good pick.

    Twins fun fact: Tom Brunanski, Kirby Puckett and Kent Hrbek were the last Twins to homer 30 times in a season. That was 19 years ago. I hope we end that drought before the new stadium opens up. It’s the longest homer drought of any team in the majors.

  4. As much as I wanted to disagree with something on this list (after all, such exercises are just perfect for disagreements), I really can’t. Smalley was the weakest link, but when the competition includes the likes of Zoilo Versalles, Greg Gagne, and Pat Meares, I can’t complain too much with the choice. Brunansky seems a good fit for RF also.

    I guess my only quibble, then, would be with Chip Hale as the pinch hitter. I have to give the nod to Gene Larkin, instead, if for no other reason than game 7 of the ’91 series. Hale and Larkin compare remarkably favorably career-wise. If I were picking a future manager, I’d probably go with Hale. Otherwise, I’ll take Larkin.

    Nice post.

  5. Just to disagree and stir some discussion…
    I do not think Hrbek was all that even if you throw in a bag of Spicy BBQ chips. Fielding…then take Doug M. Hitting…wasn’t Hrbek. So I would move Carew to 1B (he did play 456 games at 1B in a Twins uniform) and that leaves 2B open. Knoblach, love him or hate him, did very well with the Twins.

    The only other change I would make is that while I was growing up the Twins were my 2nd favorite team. I liked Ken Landreaux. Yes, he only played 2 years as a Twin, but they were pretty decent years. As a Dodger he was a very reliable pinch hitter.

    Let the discussion begin.

  6. Trading Hrbek for Knoblach isn’t a good idea. Both Hrbek’s power numbers and Knoblauch’s batting marks are tainted by the Dome. Hrbek took advantage of a short right field porch, Knoblauch took advantage of a turf that allowed him to hit balls in front of the plate and have them bounce so high that he could get on base with his speed. When Knoblach left the dome his numbers tanked.

    Using the dome numbers to compare these two, Knoblach’s best season had him with a .965 OPS and 256 TB; Hrbek’s best season had him with a .935 OPS and 276 TB. Hrbek kept those numbers about the same his entire career, retiring with a .848 OPS while Knoblach was inconsistent even when it came to playing with Minnesota, he had a career OPS mark of .784.

    From the numbers it’s clear to me that there’s no reason to abandon Hrbek. You’re losing total bases and a lot of power and replacing it with a guy who drew more walks than Hrbek did (being in the leadoff spot) which accounts for most of the difference in the OPS.

  7. Also, Hrbek produced more runs, his career high runs created mark (baseball reference stat) is 112. Knoblauch’s best year was 109.

  8. on further review:

    carew
    oliva
    Puckett
    Killebrew
    Hrbek
    battey
    smalley
    Bruno
    gaetti

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

