• Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 11 other followers

  • April 2006
    S M T W T F S
    « Mar   May »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    30  
  • Recent Bookmarks:

  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Pages


Julio Franco, Jack Quinn and Tobacco

Julio Franco broke a long standing major league record when he broke Jack Quinn’s 1930 mark for being the oldest player to hit a homerun in the Major Leagues. Jack Quinn is one of my all time favorite ballplayers. I’ve never seen video of him, none exists. He died before my dad was born, he’s not in the Hall of Fame, but he’s one of the most interesting players to read about.

Jack Quinn got into baseball in his mid-twenties completely by chance (a manager of a baseball team saw the young coal miner return a foul ball by throwing it so hard and accurately that he immediately offered Quinn a start in their next game for five dollars [only 2.50 if he lost]). He played baseball until he was fifty years old. He was the former record holder for being the oldest person to hit a Major League homerun (again, he was a pitcher) until last week. He was teamates with 31 Hall of Famers (of course, there was no Hall of Fame then). He held the season save record for a while (before anyone cared about saves). He played baseball for 24 years, half in the deadball era and half in the “Ruth” era.

Heh, he also gave up the 26th homerun of Babe Ruth’s 1919 season; that homerun broke the single season record (Ruth would later break his own record a few times over). Why am I such a fan of this guy? My grandmother took me to a collectibles shop in Alberquerque when I was 9 or 10 years old. It was a scary looking store with a lot of military stuff like Nazi helmets and uniforms. It also had a modest selection of tobacco cards. As a way of spoiling her grandchild, she was going to buy me one card, my choice. Eventually I decided on the one card, the one you see with this post, a t209 of Jack Quinn from the nineteen-teens.

I felt bad when Julio Franco broke his record. I was hoping maybe with the news of the record there would be some interest in profiling the man who held the record for 75 years, but there hasn’t been any reporting as such. Well, Quinn is still the oldest player ever to pitch in a World Series…maybe someone will notice Quinn when someone breaks that record.

2 Responses

  1. great column. I didn’t know anything about Mr. Quinn, but I was impressed by Franco’s recent feat.

    I think it’z amazing to think that Babe Ruth actually held a homerun record of 26 in a season.

    Have you priced the Quinn card? Not that I would expect you to sell it, but I’m jsut curious.

    Two years ago my grandfather gave me a signed Waite Hoyte card that his father had. I on’t know if it’s worth anything, but Hoyt was one of the earliest closers, like Quinn.

    Baseball cards can tell pretty good stories.

  2. The card originally cost my grandmother 12 dollars. It is now worth quite a bit more than that as popularity into tobacco cards has expanded. I just looked ut up in a beckett, it’s worth less than a hundred dollars but more than 50 dollars.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

