• Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 10 other followers

  • March 2006
    S M T W T F S
    « Feb   Apr »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    262728293031  
  • Recent Bookmarks:

  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Pages

Got this from Michael Brodkorb today:

MINNESOTA DEMOCRATS EXPOSED LEGAL UPDATE: MOTION TO DISMISS SLAPP LAWSUIT

It has been 90 days since Blois Olson decided to a file a lawsuit against me over material posted on Minnesota Democrats Exposed.

As I have said before, the lawsuit filed against me by Blois Olson was never about defamation, but about the right to blog anonymously.

Because Blois Olson has done nothing to resolve the lawsuit in over 90 days, I believe Blois Olson filed this lawsuit to intimidate and silence me.

This is called a SLAPP lawsuit.

SLAPP is an acronym for “Strategic Lawsuit Against Public Participation.” SLAPPs are lawsuits aimed at silencing a plaintiff’s opponents. The purpose of the SLAPP is not to win, but to intimidate the SLAPP defendant and to chill petition and/or free speech rights.

One court has explained the characteristics of SLAPP suits as follows: SLAPP suits are brought to obtain an economic advantage over the defendant, not to vindicate a legally cognizable right of the plaintiff. Indeed, one of the common characteristics of a SLAPP suit is its lack of merit. But lack of merit is not of concern to the plaintiff because the plaintiff does not expect to succeed in the lawsuit; only to tie up the defendants’ resources for a sufficient length of time to accomplish plaintiff’s underlying objective.

I believe Blois Olson’s lawsuit is intended to stifle or inhibit the exercise of my right of free speech and participation in government and, accordingly, is prohibited by Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 554 (1994).

I have filed a motion to dismiss the lawsuit filed against me.

Copies of all of the court documents are available for download on the right side of my blog.
__________________________________
Michael B. Brodkorb
Minnesota Democrats Exposed
Phone: (612) 618-1168

How is Michael this scary?

2 Responses

  1. I got this item from the Drama Queen too.

  2. I’m sure you wouldn’t like being in a courtroom for your blog…

    If I had to guess.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

