• Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 11 other followers

  • February 2006
    S M T W T F S
    « Jan   Mar »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    262728  
  • Recent Bookmarks:

  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Pages

Still on a post-Olympic graphing high

I updated the numbers on the medal count versus GDP per capita (with the finalised medal count I didn’t have when I did my first post), ran the numbers and found Per Capita GDP is correlated to Olympic success at a .524 clip:

I also decided to try out the numbers for just gold medals, and the correlation plummets down to .255:

So, money will get you medals, but first place can’t be “bought.”

Well I think it’s cool…

One Response

  1. Wow, you are a statistical genius. There is so much noise on those charts I thought someone had blown their nose on it.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

