• Book Recommendations:

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 10 other followers

  • February 2006
    S M T W T F S
    « Jan   Mar »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    262728  
  • Recent Bookmarks:

  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Pages

Pride in the wrong things…

I was digging around http://firstgov.gov this week. The website is awesome. Finally there’s an easy, one stop portal to all the crap the government has/does/sells/buys/requires/services/worships. I was looking for any information on GSA auctions when I noticed that the IRS has an online gift shop. I found this a little worrisome, but every government building has a gift shop. But then I saw this:

It’s an ornament celebrating the 80th anniversary of the passing of the 16th amendment. The center of the ornament is a 1040 form. Unreal. There are not enough profanities in all the world to describe how I felt when I saw this little item. Jackie Gleason (a la “Sheriff Justice”), Marty Wingard nor Scott Adams’ swearing olympics could produce enough profanity to describe how I felt about anyone putting one of these on their Christmas trees. There are occasions when I feel truly that no one is deserving of an eternity in Hell. Apokatastasis Panton has been my (heretical) temptation in theology. However, seeing things like this ornament makes Hell seem truly just in the grand scheme of things.

Here is the description for the item:

THA’s fifth annual ornament depicts the first Form 1040 as a commemorative of the 80th Anniversary of the authorization to collect tax on income. The ornament measures approximately 3-1/4 by 3-1/2 inches.

The 16th Amendment to the Constitution – the briefest, with the exception of the Bill of Rights – states “The Congress shall have power to lay and collect taxes on incomes, from whatever sources derived, without apportionment among the several States, and without regard to any census or enumeration.” On January 5, 1914, the Department of the Treasury unveiled the new Form 1040 for tax year 1913. This item is not available at this time.

I’m going to give myself a case of apoplexy here. I’ve never sworn on this blog, but man, the temptation to leave an F bomb here is tremendous. I understand that someone has to collect taxes. Jesus spent a lot of time with tax collectors. Maybe I shouldn’t be so hard on them. But someone needs eternal damnation here.

Every year in the U.S. there is a 400 billion dollar drain on the economy because of our tax code (not including the 2 trillion dollars in taxes) and the IRS.

3 Responses

  1. yes, but how do you really feel?

  2. Too bad there weren’t bloggers around in 1993.

  3. Thus the need for this.

    BTW.. a cuss word here and there as needed is quite a cathartic release.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

